The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
Did I Have an Encounter with an Angel?
0:00
-5:44

Did I Have an Encounter with an Angel?

Have you ever wondered whether the person you’ve met was actually an angel in disguise? While there are people whose kindness reminds us of angelic qualities, there are instances when we couldn’t help but wonder if we have met an angel in real life.

I have had such an experience some years ago while I was going home very late from work. There were days when I went home without any fear, but during that time, I felt like praying for help and protection.

From what I could remember, I prayed that an angel be sent to protect me. It was as simple as that. After praying, I even sort of forgot all about it as I busied myself going home.

I had no car and the public transportation I had to use in the Philippines then was the jeepney. It was smaller than a bus and commuters sat next to each other on two opposite sides of the vehicle. If there was anyone who wanted to do something bad, it would be very easy. (I once experienced someone pointing something sharp toward me just to steal my mobile phone. I have written the related story in another piece.)

Going back to that night, I noticed a guy sitting right next to me who never moved even when other people already got off the vehicle. At one point, he even talked to me saying something like I had to be very careful because there are a lot of bad guys in the area.

No, he wasn’t a robber. He didn’t do anything bad. And I had no sort of bad feeling about him. I felt comfortable and protected with his presence.

The man just sat like that until I had to get off the vehicle myself, and I was thankful for his presence. It was only after that experience that I’ve remembered the prayer I had before going home.

And I couldn’t help but wonder, “Was he an angel in disguise?”

“Our prayers are so dear to God, that he has appointed the angels to present them to him as soon as they come forth from our mouths. 'The angels,' says St. Hilary, 'preside over the prayers of the faithful, and offer them daily to God.' This is that smoke of the incense, which are the prayers of saints, which St. John saw ascending to God from the hands of the angels (Apoc. 8,3); and which he saw in another place represented by golden phials full of sweet odors, very acceptable to God.”
- St. Alphonsus Maria de Liguori

Here’s a song I have composed about angels when I was in high school. You can also hear a little bit of my very rough recording of it in the audio file in this post.

WINGS IN MY LIFE

(Original song composition)

I.

I know that there are reasons
for rainy days to come
I know that there are times
when my tears can't help but fall

But such times are not the times
when I should feel alone
Somebody's hand is on my shoulder
Somebody's eyes are on my soul

CHORUS:

('Cause/And) There have been angels in my life
There have been wings that carried me to reach the sky
To dream my dreams and be the best I can be
There have been wings that carried me

There have been angels in my life
Somebody stood by me when all the world was grey
And now I only pray
To thank the Lord for giving you to me

II.

The road ahead is winding
but I know I'll make it through
Cause there's no mountain that's too high
when I know I climb with you

You help me know what I can do
You know what's deep inside
The stars can't help but smile and shine on me
When I pass by through the night

(Repeat Chorus)

Refrain:

You helped me grow my own wings
and make them really strong
And now I find the strength inside
to fly so high

(Repeat Chorus)

Want to pray to angels? Here’s a free app that could help you.

Download Free App

I leave you with some quotes about angels as a reminder of their presence and importance in our lives:

"We should show our affection for the angels, for one day they will be our coheirs just as here below they are our guardians and trustees appointed and set over us by the Father."- St. Bernard of Clairvaux

"At the orders of the queen, the angels frequently assisted the apostles in their travels and tribulations ... The angels often visited them in visible shapes, conversing with them and consoling them in the name of the most blessed Mary."- St. Mary of Agreda

"Since God often sends us his inspirations by means of his angels, we ought frequently to offer him our aspirations through the same channel... Call on them and honor them frequently, and ask their help in all your affairs, temporal as well as spiritual."- St. Francis de Sales

"The powers of hell will assail the dying Christian; but his angel guardian will come to console him. His patrons, and St. Michael, who has been appointed by God to defend his faithful servants in their last combat with the devils, will come to his aid."- St. Alphonsus Liguori

“The first thing about the angels that we ought to imitate, is their consciousness of the Presence of God.” - Saint John Vianney

"If you remembered the presence of your angel and the angels of your neighbors, you would avoid many of the foolish things which slip into your conversations."- St. Josemaria Escriva

“Beside each believer stands an Angel as protector and shepherd, leading him to life.” – St. Basil the Great

"The angels of God accompanied the faithful when the light of his truth only dawned in the new world. And now that the day sprung from on high was visited, and exalted our nature to a union with the divinity, will these beneficent beings be less associated or delighted to dwell with the soul that is panting for heavenly joys and longing to join in their eternal alleluias? Oh, no, I will imagine them always surrounding me and in every moment will sing with them, 'Holy, holy, holy, Lord God of hosts, heaven and earth are full of your glory!'"- St. Elizabeth Seton

“Make yourself familiar with the Angels, and behold them frequently in spirit. Without being seen, they are present with you.” – St. Francis de Sales

"The angels who shine like the stars feel sympathy for our human nature and place it before God's eyes just as if it were a book. They attend us. They speak to us in a reasonable way, just as God inspires them to do. In the sight of God they praise people who do good deeds but turn away from those who are evil."- St. Hildegard of Bingen

"If we detect an angel by the effect he is producing, let us hasten to pray since our heavenly guardian has come to join us."- St. John Climacus

"Let us be like the holy angels now... If one day we are to be in the angelic court, we must learn how, while we are still here, the manners of the angels." - St. Vincent Ferrer

Share

0 Comments
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
Listen to my journals, poems, songs, devotionals, book reviews and other things that make up my day as I strive to live a life filled with the love of Jesus.