The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
There Is Something We Should Look Forward To
0:00
-4:38

There Is Something We Should Look Forward To

Hi, how are you doing these days?

I hope that whatever you’re going through, you find some time to talk to the One who loves you.

I know I’m often guilty of neglecting to spend some quiet time with Jesus. Not that I don’t want to. I usually have this sort of intention that I’d do it, that I’d spend time with Him. But as the demands of the day increase, I find less and less time to talk to Him.

Sometimes I’m able to listen to a good song and somehow, I get in touch with His consoling presence again. My soul is lifted up and I’m reminded that there is another kind of life I should look forward to.

The same effect comes to me whenever I read a good book. One example is The Lord of the Rings. I find it particularly moving whenever I read about the elves. To me, they’re as close as I could get to imagining how angels must be like. (Though I know that’s still a far comparison.)

But whenever I read about the elves, I’m able to visualize how we could be in heaven. In heaven, we’d be more beautiful than we now are. In heaven, we won’t get sick, and we would no longer die. Aren’t the elves like that?

Perhaps God uses every tool possible to catch my attention, to remind me that I shouldn’t just look at this life, especially when I’m starting to lose hope.

There is another life, there is a heaven where we can finally be with the One who loves us most. I hope we can spend time today letting this thought sink in and encourage us wherever we may be in life. God bless you!

"The others cast themselves down upon the fragrant grass, but Frodo stood awhile still lost in wonder. It seemed to him that he had stepped through a high window that looked on a vanished world. A light was upon it for which his language had no name. All that he saw was shapely, but the shapes seemed at once clear cut, as if they had been first conceived and drawn at the uncovering of his eyes, and ancient as if they had endured for ever. He saw no colour but those he knew, gold and white and blue and green, but they were fresh and poignant, as if he had at that moment first perceived them and made for them names new and wonderful. In winter here no heart could mourn for summer or for spring. No blemish or sickness or deformity could be seen in anything that grew upon the earth. On the land of Lórien there was no stain." - The Lord of the Rings


Have you listened to this issue’s podcast?

I hope you were able to click the “play” button above. This is the very first public podcast for Catholic Diary. (The previous one titled “Did I Have an Encounter with an Angel?” was a private podcast for paid subscribers. ) The recording is very raw, I’ve done the audio at my room and you may even hear background sounds every now and then. I chose not to edit them so you could imagine more that we’re just in the same room and I’m talking to you as a friend would. Until the next Newsletter and podcast, do take care. God bless you!

Subscribe now and listen to podcasts exclusive only to paid subscribers. Read locked contents (posts, poems, songs, personal journals, books, apps, etc.) and be updated with the latest from Catholic Diary.

Share

0 Comments
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
Listen to my journals, poems, songs, devotionals, book reviews and other things that make up my day as I strive to live a life filled with the love of Jesus.