The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
Why Not Believe In God?
0:00
-8:50

Why Not Believe In God?

Sometimes I wonder why people don't want to believe in God.

I'm not referring to those who can't believe at the moment or to those who find it hard to believe because of some difficult situations they've been through.

What I'm referring to is the refusal to believe, and that utter hate for the mere thought of God.

Why the hatred? Why such a strong desire that there were no God?

Is it such a bad idea to hope in God?

Perhaps there is a reason only such people know. And who knows? Someday, saints may even come from those who do not believe now.

As for me, I would like to believe that there is a God. And here are some of the reasons why:

1. God is the final arbiter of Justice

When we talk about reality, we have to admit that justice is not always served in this life. Many things are unfair. Innocent people are punished, while the guilty are set free.

We need a final Judge who will judge without prejudice or any selfish agenda. A Judge who knows everything, who will reveal the truth for all the world to see. A Judge who will render what is due to each one, who will not turn a deaf ear nor be swayed to the left or to the right from implementing what is fair.

Image by Aamir Mohd Khan from Pixabay

2. Only God's Mercy can comfort the sick, the poor and the most vulnerable.

Life is full of suffering. No person is spared from weakness or pain.

We need a God who can comfort our deepest sorrows and heal our most painful wounds.

Who can feed each hungry person? Who can listen to every broken heart?

No matter how good our intentions may be, we can't reach everyone in need. We need a God who will bring Mercy and Compassion to all who hurt and mourn. We need a God who can save us from death and give us eternal life.

3. God is our constant companion

No matter how many people we know, there will always be a part in us that will long for that One companion who will never leave us and who will understand the deepest desires of our hearts.

"He cares for you.
He watches your every move.
There's no one that loves you
can do that."
- Mother Angelica

4. God is infinite beauty

Everything on earth that delights us must come to an end. Sooner or later, the source of our pleasures would expire and fade away. Even the beauty of nature has its limits.

Who else can be our infinite delight but God who is infinite beauty Himself?

What good is eternity unless we gaze upon that beauty that transcends all understanding? Beauty that satisfies and heals the soul?

5. Only God's Love will never fail

Source of all goodness. The only One who cannot fail. Light that overcomes all darkness. Joy that never ends.

Only God will never fail us. Only His Love can give us true and lasting happiness.

“O Love, that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in Thee;
I give Thee back the life I owe,
That in Thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.
O Light, that followest all my way,
I yield my flickering torch to Thee;
My heart restores its borrowed ray,
That in Thy sunshine's blaze its day

May brighter, fairer be.”
- George Matheson

Final words

I cannot claim that my faith never falters. I cannot claim that I never had my doubts.

But our doubts need not lead to our despair. Our doubts need not lead towards our hatred of God.

Despite all our misgivings, our complaints and our many questions, isn’t it still a comfort to hope that there is a God who is good, a God who loves us and desires the best for us?

Why not believe in God?

Why not desire to find the Source of all that’s good and true and wonderful? Why ignore your thirst for beauty without comparison, and happiness without end?

I pray that I may continue to believe through it all. I pray that we may continue to believe through it all. May God help you and I and may He give us the grace to always hope and trust in Him.


If you want to read more about believing in a God you cannot see, you may want to take a look at my book: To Love an Invisible God

Buy today on Amazon

Is it really possible to love a God we cannot even see? Can we really love Him as we love another Person? A Person who can listen to us and respond to us? A Person who can know us far more intimately than any human being ever can?

This book will not contain everything that can satisfy those who are searching for answers. I think there is no book that can ever contain all that can be known about God. But a book may, by God's grace, show us a glimpse of Him, and that may be enough to make us search for Him in all the many places He could be found.

Share

0 Comments
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
The Diary of a Single Catholic Writer
Listen to my journals, poems, songs, devotionals, book reviews and other things that make up my day as I strive to live a life filled with the love of Jesus.